Wednesday, April 30, 2008

The Five Stages of Death and Dying

Dr Elizabeth Kubler Ross was the first to identify the five stages of the process of Death and Dying. I have found that these five stages apply to not only death and dying issues but any crisis where you experience painful losses.

This includes but is not limited to moving away from family and friends, the loss of a pet, divorce or a close family moving away from you. I have seen patients who loose a limb also go through these five steps.

I will list the stages for you here and in the following blog entries I will give more information on each stage. It is important to understand these stages to better help you and your child cope with the current crisis. Understanding and identifying where you or your loved one are within the process will give you the patience to cope and the ability to find resources for assistance.

The five stages are:


More on each stage soon. For now, enjoy the moment.


Jewel Sample said...

Thank you for talking about the difficult concepts of grief and loss. Courage, patience and kindness are key to walking through this process.
Many blessings to you,

terri.forehand said...

Jewel, you are so right about the courage part. Some are not able to talk about such painful feelings, but I really believe you can not keep this bottled up or you will make yourself ill. Blessings, Terri

jean said...

tnx for your post! I've learned a lot..


You have an amazing post. I read it several times. Read a similar post in mine too! Death